Occupational Therapy Australia has developed several resources for those within the OT workforce. These competency based resources are intended to support OTs and include Australian Competency Standards, Guidelines and job classification documents.

Australian occupational therapy competency standards
The competency standards outline professional behaviours all occupational therapists should demonstrate to practice safely and ethically. They apply to all occupational therapists working across all practice settings including within research, education, management and other roles not involving direct clinical care. They also specifically acknowledge the need for occupational therapists to enhance their cultural responsiveness and capabilities for practice with respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples and other cultures.

The competency standards focus on four conceptual areas of occupational therapy practice:

  • professionalism
  • knowledge and learning
  • occupational therapy process
  • practice and communication

Rural Locum Assistance Program (LAP)
Incorporating Nursing & Allied Health Rural Locum Scheme (NAHRLS), the Rural Obstetric and Anaesthetic Locum Scheme (ROALS) and the Rural Locum Education Assistance Programme (LEAP), Rural LAP aims to provide locum support for eligible GPs, specialists, nurses, midwives and allied health professionals in rural and regional Australia to ensure consistent service delivery in their areas.

The Australian & New Zealand Association for Health Professional Educators (ANZAHPE)
Comprised of clinicians, academic educators and students, the ANZAHPE is the peak body for Australian and New Zealand practitioners involved in the education and training of health professionals. Formally ANZAME (Australian & New Zealand Association of Medical Education), ANZAHPE is a multidisciplinary organisation, encompassing undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education and training.


Sponsored Advertising - Find out more